Distribution   Xango Music   Trapeze Music   Indigo   AurumCph     iTunes 

‘CUBANERO’ Debut Album by the Cuban trumpet player and composer Yuliesky González. 
Rooted in the Afro Cuban environment from his childhood streets he shares a personal testimony that includes the mystical and mythical of the Afro Cuban spirit.

Ten years old Yuliesky González began the Music Conservatory of Camagüey while at the same time learning trumpet from his father and his grandfather. Graduating at nineteen González joined the obligatory military service in the army band in Habana. There he formed a brass quintet and began writing his own compositions. After two years of service the talented trumpet player started his professional music career. He performed with Omara Portuondo, Feliz Valoy, Changuito, Manolito Simonet, Pupi Pedroso, Pedro Lugo “Nene” and Alexander Abreu, just to name some. Since then he’s been touring and performing internationally with artists from all over the world. 

‘Cubanero’ is reflecting the history of Cuban Jazz as well as the Cuban popular music. The music is coloured by influences from Yuliesky’s education in Classical European music and the crispy African rhythms that are the daily life on the streets of any Cuban town. The album line up includes two of the greatest Scandinavian Jazz capacities. Guitarist Bjarne Roupé performed with Miles Davis, Dizzy Gillespie, Hermeto Pascual, John Scofield, Deedee Bridgewater, Eddie Harris, Toots Thieleman, to name a few. Saxofonist Tomas Franck has performed with John Scofield, Eliane Elias, Steve Swallow, Carla Bley, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, David Sanborn and many more.. 

‘Cubanero’ has been on a long travel from the recordings Copenhagen to this final release. The recordings went through different studios hands for the mixing and versions we where not entirely satisfied with. Then Yuliesky was utterly busy with an ever expanding career and the adjustments had to be done in between his busy schedule. It is therefore a tremendous pleasure and relief to finally release the outstanding debut album ‘Cubanero’!
Carolina Vallejo, One World Records 

LINE UP Yuliesky González Trumpet & Flugel Horn & Lead Vocal/ Tomas Franck Tenor Sax / Bjarne Roupé Guitar / Martin Mattuck Double Bass & Electric Bass / Norman Peplow Piano / Isan Torres Congas / Wiljoph Mounkassa Drums and Timbal GUESTS Tony Moreaux Timbal / Leonid Muñoz Hernández Chekere, Guiro, Cowbell & Batas / Yohan Ramón Cajón / Carlos Guillén Batas / Yaremi Kordos Chorus / Tony Rafael Chorus / Nando del Río Chorus / 

TITLES 01. Very Nice 06:14 / 02. Reflections 07:33 / 03. Santísimo 06:26 / 04. En Cada Amanecer 07:01 / 05. Love Theme from a Dream 08:22 / 06. ’cause I love you 05:44 / 07. Miles Across 07:38 / 08. Timba Berlin-Habana 06:50 / Total Playing Time 55:05 

CUBANERO All Music, Texts & Arrangements ©by Yuliesky González
Except *’Love Theme From a Dream’ by Tomas Franck / *’Miles Across’ by Bjarne Roupé /*’En Cada Amanecer’ by Norman Peplow

Recording Engenier Marc Casanovas / Mixed by Hugo J. Díaz Sánchez / Mastered by Luis Damian Güell 

Recorded at The Royal Academy of Music Copenhagen  
Produced by Carolina Vallejo & Yuliesky González 
Executive producers Carolina Vallejo & Yuliesky González
Cover photo by Paulo da Costa 

©℗One World Records 2020 

Digital release 03.07.2020 Physical release 07.08.2020

Free Download